IMI Skills Competition finalists announced for 2024

The IMI Skills Competition finalists for 2024 have been announced. National qualifying events took place throughout May and June in four categories, Body Repair, Refinishing, Light Vehicle Technology, and Heavy Vehicle Technology, with the 24 finalists progressing to compete in the national finals from 18-22 November.

Eligible winners will then have an opportunity to represent Squad UK in EuroSkills 2025 in Denmark and WorldSkills International 2026 in China.

IMI Skills Competition finalists

Richard Hutchins, IMI Skills Competitions Manager said:

“The finalists include career changers, industry returners, and, for the first time, two women in the Refinishing stream. Each finalist stood out from their competitors for their keen focus, overcoming personal hurdles and a real commitment to improving their skills for the benefit of the industry.

“With the automotive sector facing ongoing recruitment challenges, as highlighted by our There’s More to Motor campaign, putting the spotlight on those positively pursuing and achieving a career in the sector is vital to attract new talent. The group is an inspiration to current employees as well as to the next generation considering taking the same path into automotive.”

The IMI Skills Competition finalists are:


Victoria Steele, Sinclaire Bodyshop; Ben Robertson, G&H Auto Repairs; Ben Williams, Manor Garage; Lewis Patterson, Agnew Preparation Centre; Teagan Whiteman, Fix Auto Newport; and Kyle Davin, Love Your Car.

Body Repair:

Belal Al Haka, FMG RS; Joe Wilton, SDM Paint Works; Aaron Cooper, Steer Automotive Group; Jordan Lingham, Sinclair Bodyshop; Owen Thomas, Bprolls; Nathan Hoe, Steer Automotive Group.

Heavy Vehicle Technology:

Mihale Zeke, Watts Truck and Van Cardiff; Toby Hull, TruckEast Norwich; Matthew Hatton, Intercounty Truck and Van Wellingborough; Conor Blades, Scania GB; Callum Stewart, Tayside Contracts; and Harry Brown, Fife Council.

Light Vehicle Technology:

Adam Culverhouse, Sytner BMW Leicester; Charlie Taff Lavill, Volkscraft; Matthew Ford, Monmouth MOT Centre; Karl Wilson, SG Petch; Robert Maskell, Ford; Harry Tully, Vosper Ford Exeter.