Shortlist for National Paint Championships revealed

The finalists of the National Paint Championships have been named, with the winner to be crowned at Automechanika Birmingham on 7 June.

The shortlist of eight is Jack Smith from Forged from Flake; Rob Hendrick from Brit Built Customs; Julian Woodstock from Colchester College; Becca Denton from Bex Airbrushing; Rhisiart Griffith from RWG Built; Ian Boultwood from Bespoke Autostyling, Ashleigh Shaw from Autobodyworx and Hannah Pusey from Sprayaway Group.

They are now tasked with designing the most impressive car bonnet to showcase their classic paint technique, in a bid to be crowned National Paint Champion.

The designs will be on display during the course of the show from 6-8 June, and a professional jury ­– Rachel Murray, finisher and owner of Paint by Rach; Michael Massey, global paint finishing platform application engineer for the 3M Automotive Aftermarket Division; Simon Wait, head of editorial at Bodyshop Magazine; Jordan Salt, managing director of R+R Coatings; Sunny Yip, car body repair technician of Auto Spray and; Craig Bourke, technical sales support engineer at Walcom Walmec UK – will decide on their favourite design live on stage at the show.

Alex Jones, marketing director of Messe Frankfurt UK, organisers of Automechanika Birmingham, said: “The Championships have been extremely popular and the talent showcased was phenomenal – it was really difficult to narrow down the finalists to just eight. We’re now wishing those shortlisted the best of luck and can’t wait to see the creative designs they come up with.”