IGA announces awards winners

The Independent Garage Association (IGA) has revealed the winners of the British Independent Garage of the Year Awards 2022.

Recognising businesses and individuals who have excelled in 13 separate categories, the awards ceremony took place in front of 350 people at the Farnborough International Exhibition and Conference Centre on Friday, 19 August.

The Customer Service Award went to Hillclimb Garage, while the Business Improvement Award was won by Cleevely Motors with Cedar Garage highly commended.

Hayley Pells won the Individual Contribution Award, with Peter Whieldon highly commended, while the Training & Development Award winner was Cedar Garage with Collision Motoring Services highly commended.

ACC UK (winner) and Aviva Autos (highly commended) shone in the Communication Award category, while the Community Engagement Award went to Exminster Garage with Lindleys Autocentres highly commended.

Elsewhere, Cleevely Motors and Cayman Autos were winners and highly commended in the Innovation Award, Cedar Garage and Amors Auto Solutions collected the same honours in the Consumer Choice Awards, and the Outstanding Achievement Award went to Bee Cool ACS.

Also triumphant on the night was Hillclimb Garage (winner) and Simply Serviced (highly commended) in the Small Independent Garage of the Year category, and Shaikly Motor Company (winner) and CCM, CR Allen & Sons (highly commended) in the Large Independent Garage of the Year category.

Cleevely Motors was named overall winner of the Independent Garage of the Year category, while Phil Todd was recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Stuart James, IGA chief executive, said: “It has been a great honour to hold these awards for the independent garage sector after a very challenging couple of years. Local garage businesses have been overlooked for far too long, so it was wonderful to see the sector together in one room to bring widespread recognition to the unsung heroes that keep the UK moving.

“Congratulations to all our worthy winners, highly commended garages and finalists, who are all truly outstanding examples of Britain’s best independent garages. I would also like to thank our sponsors, judges and organisers who all made this event possible.”