EuropCar under new ownership

The Green Mobility Holding consortium will become the major shareholder in EuropCar Mobility Group.

The consortium consists of Volkswagen, Attestor and Pon Holdings.

It has also announced that Europcar Mobility Group’s one-tier board of directors will be replaced by a two-tier structure with a supervisory board and a management board.

Five candidates have been proposed for the newly created supervisory board: Imelda Labbé and Holger Peters of Volkswagen, Jan-Christoph Peters and David Alhadeff of Attestor as well as Janus Smalbraak of Pon Holdings.

Independent members of the current board of directors, Sylvie Veilleux, Martine Gerow and Carol Sirou, and the employees representative Adèle Mofiro will form the newly created supervisory board, which will be chaired by Peters.

He said: “Europcar Mobility Group is facing a major transformation from a traditional rent-a-car business to a tech company in the field of future mobility. With the support of the consortium, the group will have to continue its transformation and invest hundreds of millions to upgrade its infrastructure, increase its agility and enhance its overall offering over the next couple of years. I am looking forward to working closely with the future management team of Europcar Mobility Group on this major challenge.

Meanwhile, current CEO Caroline Parot will leave the company, as will chairman Alexandre de Juniac and directors Carl Leaver and Simon Franks.