bodyshop/IAEA VDA of the year awards 2015

Yesterday (25 June) bodyshop magazine travelled to the Thatcham Research centre, to check out the competition at the final of bodyshop/IAEA Vehicle Damage Assessor of the year awards.

The competition had been narrowed to down to just six competitors after they managed to get through the initial qualifying stages. The first stage involved a multiple choice test, entrants were required to answer 30 questions in 20 minutes. The top 12 competitors with the highest score from this round then had to take part in a telephone interview with former president of the IAEA, Trevor Sutton and his esteemed colleague Geoff Stagg. This lasted approximately one hour and the top six scorers of the phone interview where then invited to Thatcham where the practical exam took place.

The competitors who reached the final six were: Lee Marshall, last year’s winner Karen Ashton, Darren Porter, two time winner Russell Taylor, Terry Brett and Philip Roath.
For the practical element, the finalists were required to complete a full assessment on crashed vehicles that had been preselected and were given two hours for each assessment. The set tasks were overseen by Trevor, Geoff and the staff at Thatcham.

The first vehicle to be assessed was a Peugeot 208, using Audatex, competitors were asked to record the condition of car, tyre depths, the safety items fitted and complete all safety checks. The finalists then had to compile a fully costed safe appropriate repair method and value the vehicle using Glasses Evaluator, taking into account the pre-accident condition and mileage and categorise the salvage in line with the ABI code of practice.

The second car to be assessed was a Renault Clio, the six assessors had to compile a safe appropriate repair specification using escribe, recording the scheduled hours and paint and material costs.

The final car to be assessed was a Seat Ibiza, using a pre-populated assessment document provided, the competitors were required to compile a safe and appropriate repair specification using manufacturer methods supplied, recording the hours required to complete the repair and any paint and materials that were required, however for this part the use of IT was not allowed.

After yesterday’s practical assessments the top four scorers will be invited to the 2015 bodyshop awards, where the winner will then be announced. This year’s awards will take place at the luxurious Celtic Manor Resort in Wales, on 24 and 25 September.